1st Runner Up, PACSiklaban 2022

The second- and third-year student representatives of the BS Biochemistry program have successfully garnered the 1st runner up position in the recently concluded PACSiklaban 2022.  This intercollegiate quiz competition was held virtually last April 10, 2022 during the National Chemistry Student’s Congress (NCSC) 2022, with the theme, “+C: Integrating Chemical Sciences Towards Stable and Sustainable Solutions.” The competition is composed of an elimination round and a final round, where each round is further composed of an easy, average, and difficult stage.

The team was composed of team captain Sherwin John Navarro (3rd year), Hans Alfred Alib (3rd year), Kurt Nathaniel Baligod (2nd year), Crisandro Allen Lazo (2nd year), and Neil Tristan Sacayanan (3rd year).

Another team representing the program has also come close to securing a spot in the final round, which is composed of team captain Rhythm Cabrera (2nd year), Marvince John Araneta (2nd year), Alvin Paramio (3rd year), Ray Vincent Pelayo (2nd year), Maral Shams Govara (2nd year), and Kyle Louie Vitug (2nd year). Both teams were coached by Mr. Aaron Noel Genato.

A total of 10 teams have participated in this year’s competition. The other participating universities were: University of Sto. Tomas Chemistry (Champion) and Biochemistry, Batangas State University, De La Salle Medical and Health Sciences Institute (2nd runner up), Polytechnic University of the Philippines, University of the Philippines Diliman, and Western Mindanao State University.

Written by Jamie Bernadette Sy